For immediate release June 10, 2013

Contact: Rachel Zlotziver, SCCOE (408) 453-6514

Teaching honorees named for celebration event

SAN JOSE, CA – The Santa Clara County Office of Education is proud to announce Santa Clara County's 2013 Teachers of the Year, along with the recipients of the 2013 Texas Instruments STEM Teaching Awards. These accomplished educators will be recognized at the 44th annual <u>Teacher Recognition Celebration</u> on Sept. 26, at the Heritage Theatre in Campbell.

Presented by the Santa Clara County Office of Education, the recognition ceremony is the oldest and largest of its kind in California. The honorees:

Name	School District	School
Sarah Kretovics	Alum Rock Union School District	Renaissance Academy
Sandra Main	Berryessa Union School District	Majestic Way Elementary
Kate Moody	Cambrian School District	Fammatre Elementary School
Sameen Shoenhair	Campbell Union High School District	Prospect High School
Tracy Brown	Campbell Union School District	Campbell Middle School
Jessica Lura	Santa Clara County Office of Education charter	Bullis Charter School
Heather Bass	Santa Clara County Office of Education	Gateway School
Nancy Ross	Cupertino Union School District	De Vargas Elementary School
Bernadette Salgarino	East Side Union High School District	James Lick High School
Sara Spacek	Evergreen School District	Chaboya Middle School
Suzette Takacs	Franklin-McKinley School District	Franklin Elementary School

		1
Alyssa Long	Fremont Union High School District	Fremont High School
Gina Chekouras	Gilroy Unified School District	Glen View Elementary
Randolph Todd Cohen	Loma Prieta Joint Union School District	CT English Middle School
Curtis Schneider	Los Altos School District	Ardis Egan Junior High School
Liz Nast	Los Gatos Union School District	Blossom Hill Elementary School
Ann Jordan	Los Gatos-Saratoga Joint Union High School District	Los Gatos High School
Noelle Parks	Luther Burbank School District	Luther Burbank Elementary
Jeff Schmidt	Metropolitan Education District	Central County Occupational Center
Nathan Dixon	Milpitas Unified School District	Milpitas High School
Bill Menkin	Moreland School District	Easterbrook Discovery School
Lourdes Robeldo	Morgan Hill Unified School District	San Martin Gwinn Elementary
Joseph Nuño	Mount Pleasant School District	Ida Jew Academies
Ellen Ratner	Mountain View Whisman School District	Monta Loma Elementary
Barbara Kaufman	Mountain View-Los Altos Union High School District	Mountain View High School
Maureen Harter	Oak Grove School District	Bernal Intermediate School
Taylor Barcellos	San Jose Unified School District	Galarza Elementary School
Mary Pat Phillips	Santa Clara Unified School District	Cabrillo Middle School
Megan Queen	Saratoga Union School District	Argonaut Elementary School
Emily Moorehead	Sunnyvale School District	Sunnyvale Middle School
Carla Dunavan	Union School District	Union Middle School
	•	•

The 2013 Texas Instruments STEM Teaching Award Winners, who receive cash awards of \$1,000 each:

Name	School District	School
Genvieve Dorsey	Oak Grove School District	Herman Intermediate School
Gina Dunsmore	Mountain View-Los Altos High School District	Mountain View High School
Noirin Foy	Los Altos School District	Georgina Blach Junior High
Robert Igoe	Campbell Union High School District	Prospect High School
Joyce Tang	Milpitas Unified School District	Thomas Russell Middle School

The annual Teacher Recognition Celebration is co-sponsored by Texas Instruments and the Santa Clara County Federal Credit Union, with support from the San Jose Mercury News. The Sixth District PTA and Santa Clara County School Boards Association provide additional support.

Visit the Teacher Recognition Celebration <u>website</u> to learn more about the event's history, view videos and photographs of previous ceremonies, and get to know past teacher honorees.

###